NSK – Neue Slowenische Kunst

Active from 1984, Ljubljana, ex-Yugoslavia
City and country of residence Slovenia
Other links COBISS
RazUme Database Link to database of artists and exhibitions.


In 1984, three groups – the multimedia group Laibach (established 1980), the visual arts group IRWIN (1983), and the theatre group Scipion Nasice Sisters Theatre (SNST) (1983–1987) – founded the Neue Slowenische Kunst (NSK) art collective. That same day, the three groups founded a fourth group, the design department New Collectivism. Later NSK established other subdivisions: the Department of Pure and Applied Philosophy, Retrovision, Film, and Builders.


NSK built its artistic concept on the “retro” method, for which each of the three founding groups coined its own name: Laibach called it the “retro-avant-garde”, the SNST the “retrogarde”, and IRWIN the “retro principle”. After the breakup of Yugoslavia and the establishment of an independent Slovenia, the NSK groups invested their common ideas in founding the NSK State in Time in 1992. Since then, the NSK State in Time has issued passports, had its own visual identity and symbols, and opened embassies and consulates in countries all over the world.


Source: Edited from website of MG+MSUM available at MGMSUM

Umetniška dela

Type Document, Concept
Date 17 April 2020
Format 1920x1080

The video documentation was edited specifically for Artemic Series presenting thoughts and interpretation of a selection of works from Moderna galerija[]

Type Appropriation, Mixed media, Public art, Mass media art, ,
Date September 1992
City of production Ljubljana
Production RTV Slovenija / Studio City
Format 787x578
Duration 22:51

Type , Intervention art, Documentary video, Commentary, Television Broadcast
Date 25 February 1992
Format 720x540
Duration 22:53